Returning to work after a stroke

Good morning everyone
First off I don’t want to offend anyone with the wording of this post
I was wondering what everyone’s job is and how long after your stroke did you you return to work and how it went, in particular those whose jobs are particularly physical

I’m a fork lift truck driver, but due to my condition, I’m now 10 months post stroke and suffering from CPSP and with no definite date when I’ll be recovered, my employer has had to let me go on medical grounds though I have been told I can return when I’m well again

My job can be particularly physical ( not as simple as just driving round on an FLT all day)

Late last year, I set myself a target of returning to work in April/May but that was unrealistic especially with the left side weakness and CPSP. Ive now accepted that it happens when it happens although I do get really down at times cos I miss my job and work mates so much

Cheers
Joey

1 Like

I too was medically discharged, but was done as redundancy, I used to manage 5 charity shops, assist my area manager daily, with the intention of having his job as he was going to leave. I was very popular with other area managers who requested me to help them with store openings and merchandizing as well as training new staff and recruiting volunteers. this was a very tiring job , one I loved. I do miss it ,however have no future plans to return to work. Good luck with your ongoing recovery. I am 2 &1/2 years post stroke

1 Like

@stokiejoey sorry to hear that your employer has had to let you go on medical grounds.

I have recently returned to work part time - 17 months post stroke. My job is desk based mainly but did involve lots of travel. I’ve been exempted from the travel in the short term.

It’s disappointing when you can’t return to what you wanted to do but whilst it may not be possible right now you may well be able to return further down the recovery line. It gives you chance to focus on your recovery.

Good luck.