Husband home after a stroke

My husband had a stroke at age 47 , due to his high blood pressure. Is been since January 26 2024 and after 2 rehabilitation centers, he is now at home doing outpatient rehabilitation. We have been really blessed with his fast recovery , still struggling with his right arm trying to get it going , his speech is more cleared but still struggling with remembering some things and still gets really tired . I cried my self to asleep a lot of times because I am scared that this happens again , sometimes I wonder if coming home was the right choice but I am really new at this never been to this please help me in what to expect the next years and if am doing the right thing for him .

4 Likes

@ire2067

I had a stroke about two years ago.

You will find others here, like me, who have been through all this. We believe that supporting one another is a way forward.

It truly is a dreadful experience for all affected directly or indirectly by the stroke.

On this forum we will listen, offer sympathy and suggest from our experience what actions you might take.

Apart from the fear that more or worse might happen there is a horrible feeling of isolation. Be assured you are not alone. This forum is one of a number of ways of meeting up with those in a similar situation. The stroke association can point you towards getting involved with others who can share their experience and encourage you to move forward.

I hope you will make good use of this forum it can be a great light in the darkness.

You do have a future.
Take care of both you and yours, you need one another now, more than ever.

Keep on keepin’ on
:writing_hand: :smile: :+1:

1 Like

Hello @ire2067
Welcome to the forum although sorry you have had reason to join.
I expect others will be along to say welcome soon and they are likely to say it’s very early days yet. It is :slight_smile: