Traxeostomy

My mother has stroke now in hospital for 2 weeks with respirator and now doctors suggest to Tracheostomy because my mom still can’t fully breathing ( weak breathing ) but she could move her left and right legs by herself and lift herself body in general her condition is not too bad but only breathing problem, I am abut worry if how Tracheostomy would help her or any risk and any chance to stop using it after? does anyone has experienced in this situations and if you could give me advice ?

2 Likes

Hi @Paria just wanted to welcome you to the forum though I have no experience of Tracheostomy. I know of a gardener in the neighbourhood who had a permanent one in due to throat cancer. Needless to say his voice was unusual, due to how it functions, but could be understood perfectly. I’m afraid that’s as much as I know.

You mums Tracheostomty I suspect, will only be until her brain recovers sufficiently enough for her lungs to function independently once again.

There’s just no telling how long that can take as it depends on the extent of the damage to her brain from the stroke. A lot is recovered in the first 6 months, the rest years.

When/if it is removed, the doctor will either leave it to heal over by itself or maybe stitch it closed.

No medical professional will ever tell you there is no risk, and I wouldn’t either, and I’m not a medical professional. There is always risk, even having an ingrown toenail removed has risk.
And from what I can tell in an online search; in a Tracheostomy the risk can be anything from 6 to 48% with a mortality rate of 1.6 %

In your mums case though, there’s a much greater risk without it…or the doctors wouldn’t be considering it.