Stroke, menopause, Diabetes all battling each other

Hi everyone, my name is Sarah and I suffered a left VA dissection causing a left cerebellar infarct in Oct 22 at the age of 44. I was initially admitted to hospital with DKA which was triggered due to the sickness i suffered with my stroke, i didn’t know i was having a stroke at the time as i had no other side effects. I have been lucky that i have no physical issues i am suffering cognitively, Fatigue and vestibular compensation. They all come and go, they are all debilitating. I have been diagnosed since with Fibromyalgia, i have been battling Menopause for a few years and Diabetes too. There’s a lot going on, some days i do not know if i am coming or going its hard and exhausting, its all starting to get on-top of me now. Friends and Family struggle to understand as there are is nothing visibly wrong, i now always answer that i am ok if asked as i am fed up with going over everything. I really thought my recovery would have been quicker than this :frowning:

How does everyone cope if your suffering with more than one issue? The NHS have been wonderful, they don’t seem to join up though, I am fighting to be heard by each team.

4 Likes

@Strawbz Hi & welcome to the forum. Sorry you’ve had cause to join us but you’re very welcome here & hopefully you’ll fund us a friendly bunch.

You sure seem to have a lot going on & you are right that the NHS don’t seem very joined up.

I have a few different conditions that i am dealing with and do find it exhausting having to deal with all the different medical professionals although I am very grateful they are there. I do get fed up of telling them all my medical history as it must be on their records but I guess they need to hear it from us.

I just try & deal with the issue that is bothering the most at that particular time or the one that I have an appointment for.