Qigong

Hello Group,
I hope everyone is making progress, and finding peace.
I’m trying to address stiffness and hyper-tone in the affected side of my body in particular. The good side also needs care and attention, since it is under more strain than usual. Some people warn about a process of imitation. where the good side will start to mimic the stroked side.

The most helpful discipline to address this difficult problem is Qigong. I have been doing it for 6 months, and cannot find a single bad thought connected with it. In particular I feel it addresses stress, the number one enemy of relaxation and good body tone. In particular, it’s clear that calming and positive thoughts are the key to a healthy muscle tone.

A question for @Matthew1798 how do you rate Jeff Chand https://youtu.be/CCicH-iz1oU ? I think we can safely agree that Mingtong Gu is a fine master to follow https://youtu.be/U-0lgztDIXE

If anyone has other techniques and disciplines that will combat hyper muscle tone (or more Qigong concepts) could you please share your thoughts? I have an urge to learn more about this important topic, and how to alleviate hyper-tone.

Thanks for reading, and good luck, ciao, Roland

7 Likes

I do Qigong for visual and movement control, and have enjoyed making it part of my rehabilitation regime. In high school, I studied dance for three years, and post stroke have come to realise how stiff and robotic we become as we journey through life. Post stroke, I am breaking that habit, and have even now incorporated gentle weight training of an evening. I have been surprised at how beneficial it has been for my vestibular system. Muscle atrophy can occur even in the smallest of muscles which seems to weaken our capabilities even with the most arbitrary of tasks.

3 Likes

Interesting, Rupert

Yes we live in a stiff and robotic way, metaphorically, but…
has it helped specifically with muscle tone or stiffness?
Interesting to hear it has helped muscular atrophy

ciao, ciao, Roland