PSTD and Stroke

Hello all
I’m new to the team.
I’ve had 2 x strokes, one in April 2022 and one on August Bank Holiday.
I’m suffering with aphasia . I am hoping to go back to work next month.
Yesterday I had a serious blip :sob: i was uncontrollably crying.
My OT Support worker suggested I could be suffering from PTSD. I’m loathe the be labelled as other thing but i wondered if anyone had experience of the same. Thanks

3 Likes

Hi @SoozJD and welcome to the forum :smile: It could be PTSD, I think we all succumb to that post stroke, I know I did!
Or it could just be a combination of things that are affecting you at the moment enough to overwhelm the emotions.

You have dodged a bullet so to speak, and recovered sufficiently enough from your stroke to return to work. Plus the thought of returning to work after such a lengthy break and all that entails in reorganising your life yet again, is enough to heighten the emotions. And yesterday it all just hit you like a tsunami!

Your brain is just feeling a little overwhelmed at the moment and really needed that release. Don’t ever be afraid to give in to that release, it’s good for the brain…not a bad thing and it’s not a serious blip. It’s just your brain needing to do what it needs you to do…like a pressure release valve…just go with it.

2 Likes

Hi and welcome to this forum. I was diagnosed with PTSD in 2020, 3 years after my stroke. At the time I was feeling very low and thought I could be depressed. I was also finding that I became very distressed if we were out in the car and an ambulance came past with the blue lights and sirens on. I felt really anxious and as though I was going to throw up. I was rushed to A&E at the time of my stroke although I don’t actually remember it but my GP thought I was suffering from PTSD.
I don’t suffer so much now but sometimes it just hits me out of the blue.
Regards Sue

3 Likes