Previous injuries resulting in pain

Over the years I have had had a number of broken bones. back in 2 places, collar bone, my foot, ribs and a broken wrist. Horse riding isn’t a safe hobby and I have been riding for more than 50 years so it’s just par for the course really. I’ve found in the last couple of months that my previous injury sites have started to ache, and my back, where I have various titanium rods and plates is super painful. Has anyone else found that their previous injuries cause them hassle post stroke ?

3 Likes

I have an old knee injury that plays up lots more since my stroke. Think it is down to my poor walking. I guess we make adjustments & adaptations to enable us to do things and perhaps these compensations aggravate other injuries. Also, we might not move around as much and that probably doesn’t help either.

2 Likes

That may just be coincidental you know, probably more likely you are feeling them more with the change in weather as I am. It’s old age setting in I’m afraid, and it was I something I was warned about long before my stroke when I had my hip replaced. It’s the same for my broken ankle and arthritic fingers. All three of them don’t much care for the rain and cold these days.

1 Like

Probably old age, and the fact my osteopath is very careful these days. Don’t think he is used to treating patients who’ve had a stroke.

2 Likes

Yes for sure. I broke my hand playing cricket around 6 years ago which immediately resulted in my little finger dropping outwards.
All resolved after and back working fine with the finger aligned as it should be.
Post stroke my finger has resumed the injury pose which is a right pain (literally at times) with putting on jumpers or reaching for something.

There must be some sort of body memory that is triggered again following the traumatic events.

1 Like

Hi @clibbers1