PCSK9 inhibiting monoclonal antibody therapy

I have a relatively high cholesterol and have been referred to a metabolic clinic as I haven’t been able to tolerate statin, I’ve tried 4 different types over the past 7 -8 years but always have side effects. I don’t know much about PCSK9 apart from it is an injection which works on the liver and that a statin may be added at a later date. Wondered if anyone has tried this medication.
Ann

4 Likes

@mum2two i have no experience of this but just wanted to say I hope that it works well for you & you don’t have too long a wait. Xx

2 Likes

Thanks, my appointment is next week so I’ll let everyone know a bit more then. I was sent a copy of the letter they sent to my GP and there is so much abbreviation it makes hard reading and even harder to understand.
Ann

2 Likes

Hi Ann, hospital letters are a nightmare aren’t they. I usually end up googling what mine mean.

Good luck for your appointment.

Ann x

3 Likes

Hi Ann
I’m sure you have tried this. My wife had high cholesterol and has managed to control it with diet alone. She cut out what she would have considered as naughty but nice things. On the back of it discovered a lot of new foods. Lot more home cooked, slow cooked food, fish and chicken instead of beef and pork.
Every shop now is looking at the various fat levels and for me the salt content.

The enzyme PCSK9 causes liver cells to remove more LDL (the “bad” cholesterol) from the bloodstream. Importantly, PCSK9 inhibitors don’t have the mild anti-clotting effects that statins seem to have.
Thanks
Nigel

4 Likes

Small quantities of Brazil nuts look good to help with LDL