Our skills

Hi @all

I’m always struck by the fact that when I read a post I have no idea about the person behind that post.

So I wondered - when we meet somebody in general community setting and we are making introductions we often say "I’m a teacher or a chef or brain surgeon…

So how would you introduce yourself?

I’ll start things off by saying I was a consultant in IT, project management and corporate change for many years. I did a lot of training in the last 30 years too. If that has the predictable response of glazed eyes I might add I collect antiquarian books on funeral monuments :slight_smile:

Your similar…?

I bet between us we’ve got an awful lot of skills and some of us have quite a lot of time on our hands :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I am a master locksmith for the last 40 plus yrs and a locksmith trainer for the last 13 yrs with my own workshop .

3 Likes

Hi I used to run a bed and breakfast . Since retiring I have written a novel and just started my second one .

3 Likes

Why do we have to tell all? Some people don’t want to tell their history of how good they are or not.
Privacy is good on the internet you never know who is following you and telling all about yourself in here isn’t good.

Hi Hilary
Hello :slight_smile: of course you don’t “have” to nor does anyone else - You’re at liberty to post or not to post, indeed to read or not.

You raise an interesting point about internet security.

the stroke association has chosen in its configuration to make this community’s discussion discoverable by search engine crawlers.
Most similar charities don’t expose the content of forums - so some caution is indicated - there are risks present
they’re more exaggerated than real for most of the folk who have been using the internet for a few years.