I’m new to this but does anyone feel they’re worse physically several months after stroke than you were 4 months after?

I had my stroke 1st July 2019 and pain and deteriorating movement the last 3 months is now affecting me mentally as much as physically. My GP is trying all sorts and now thinks my joint pain particularly knees could be arthritis. I just want to be able to walk downstairs without feeling like a 90 year old! I'm only 51!! 

Jen, Generally speaking we improve a lot in the first few months and then progression slows. Sometimes, when it slows we fail to notice improvements. Progress can also 'plateau' and then improve again. 

I am four years post stroke and, if asked to summarise, I would say every improvement is hard fought for and there is a tendency to get depressed when it stalls. The important thing is to battle on and try to get through barriers, whether mental or physical. My walking is very good some days and then more wobbly on other days. After my stroke, Age UK put an extra stair rail in and this is invaluable for getting up and downstairs. I still do not come downstairs 'naturally' but, unlike you, I am not in pain.

If you have joint pain, your gp is the best person to advise you about the possible arthritis and pain control. I think we stroke survivors tend to be more sensitive to pain and what we see as lack of progress. My bugbear is my left hand, which lacks sensitivity. This means that if I do the washing up, metal objects (not cutlery) dig into it and cause pain. I'm also prone to catching my weak fingers in my belt buckle.

I am luck, however, to have a fighting spirit. After finishing this post I will do my lockdown exercises. They are tedious too, but essential in my battle for more improvement. I've already had my slightly wobbly morning walk. For the last two days I have been walking well with my stick. Today, walking was not so good, but I did my walk just the same.