First time post, supporting my partner

Hi there, this is my first time posting and felt I wanted to reach out.

37 days ago, my fiancé developed symptoms, which was later diagnosed as a Right Lacunar Stroke.

He had pins and needles all down the left side of his body, which over 3 days extended from his arm to his leg and face and remained permanently there. He spent a night in hospital to keep an eye on him, as his scans, BP and bloods all came back normal after being diagnosed with a stroke. He was discharged by all the therapists’ as he was able to safely eat, drink, talk and walk.

We have been to the GP and are awaiting his appointment with his consultant in a few weeks but felt that I wanted to reach out to here to see if anyone had any advice of how perhaps they have managed their symptoms.

I believe he may have CPSP, as the pins and needles are still present, having travelled to his lips and buttocks on the left side. The community stroke team were amazing and really supported him when discussing mental health, as he also has depression, previously diagnosed. He also gets pain in his leg at times.

Whilst I have seen that having a bath sometimes increases the pain for him, I was wondering if anyone had any ideas of small exercises that he can do from home whilst I chase up the appointment with the consultant but also may reach out to the community stroke team.

He puts on a brave face and doesn’t often complain of it but I have seen and can tell that it does bother him.

He is off work so has been getting the rest at home but the tiredness, headaches, the pins & needles and the pain he gets are still there affecting him.

I complete the housework around my job and that’s something I am used to doing from previously being an informal carer so doesn’t impact me, as my aim is to ensure he rests and takes things at a pace that suits him.

Thank you

2 Likes

HI @Gatesie02

WELCOME TO THE STROKE ASSOCIATION FORUM

YOU ARE NOT ALONE