Hello;-)

I think my story is a bit unusual as I was a police officer back in the 70's and in 1977 I went through the windscreen in a police car and suffered severe facial and head injuries.

Back then I remember the 'clunk click every trip' adverts to wear your seatbelts but as police officers they were never worn. I remember the pictures of injured people, the disfigurement of faces and heads etc. as their heads went through the car windscreens. My injuries were no different.

I was only in hospital one day before I was discharged as they needed the beds, apart from being advised not to look into mirrors for a while, I was sent home.

When I looked at myself in the mirror I can't describe what I saw - was it a hideous, ugly monster? My brain couldn't figure it out, here I was expecting to see my old face, the one my brain remembered, but instead I saw over 140 stitches in the front of my face, my right eye/eyebrow was now half inch higher than the left one, and my head on the left hand side was bigger than a rugby ball.

A few months later I returned to work. It was as though I'd been to the dentist because no-one thought anything of my accident or asked anything much about it.

I went out on the streets but then realised I couldn't remember anything; no street names, friend's names or any criminal offences/legal statutes etc.,

I struggled on, but then found that I could never try and 're-learn' something I'd forgotten, it just wouldn't stay in my head. I became edgy, uptight and lacked confidence. Over the next few years I thought it was me that lacked self-esteem, confidence etc. and beat myself up over it. I felt useless.  

I had a fear (and still do) of 'what if someone asks me a question and I can't give them the answer?"

After another serious injury a couple of years later I was forced to leave the police force.